You are here: > reports & results > great britain results > inlands 07

Great Britain, British Inlands 2007


6 - 7 October

Report by Robert Deaves

Despite the forecast of very light winds, 30 OK Dinghies turned up at Northampton Sailing Club for the 2007 Inland Championships. Three sailors dominated proceedings in the very light winds with Tony Thresher walking away with the title, the veteran trophy and, for West Oxfordshire Sailing Club, the team trophy.

Alex Scoles had the honour of leading round the first two marks in all three races on Saturday. However he only managed to convert race two to a win. In the first race he let through Neil Goodhead and Thresher on the very tricky upwind legs. Thresher, sailing an old wooden O’Donnell hull he had just acquired demonstrated exceptional speed and good tactics to place second again in race two and then went on to win the final race of the day from Terry Curtis and Scoles. Overnight Thresher led by three points from Scoles, with Goodhead one point further back.

Sunday dawned flat calm and cloudy. After a short postponement race four started in little more than a zephyr and turned into a race of ups and downs for most of the fleet. However Goodhead found more pressure out of the start and led all the way, with the occasional bit of pressure from Curtis. Scoles started badly and played catch up and finally moved into third at the final gybe mark. Thresher took fourth from Robert Deaves by less than a second, but it was enough to give him the title as all further racing was abandoned. For a while everyone thought that Goodhead had won but a closer look at the sailing instructions revealed no discard after four races, so Thresher became the surprised winner and all those who had been black flagged in race three had to carry a large score.

The weekend was quite encouraging for the class with five juniors taking part and the light winds allowed them to really shine and provide notice for future years. Tom Lonsdale sailed exceptionally well to finish sixth overall and won a carbon tiller extension generously donated for the first junior by C2 Marine. Lonsdale also won, together with Thresher and Ross Lonsdale in 10th, the very attractive Blithfield Stump for the best club.

12053Tony Thresher22149
22125Neil Goodhead135110
32117Alex Scoles314311
42118Terry Curtis452213
52119Robert Deaves566522
62112Tom Lonsdale1148629
72087Julian Burnham101531038
81944David Rollinson1687839
92107Ed Dutton18992056
102102Ross Lonsdale1413121958
112123Andy Turner710BFD1159
122120Dan Ager97BFD1461
131985Keith Byers1514102261
142121Anthony Rich811BFD1363
152065Simon Shaw1718111763
162012Jack Cracknell2020161268
17218Keith Dutton1319BFD770
182104Paul Pike2321131673
191774Richard Burton1916BFD975
20056Alex Hobern2117152477
212122Jon Fish612BFDDNS80
222060Deryck Lovegrove1222BFD1580
232090Garth Thompson2223142382
241915J Walder2424172792
252083Chris Biscomb2525182593
262074Roger Cooper28272026101
272N0David Taylor272819DNS105
282072Stuart ColesDNCDNCDNC18111
292058Mary ReddyhoffDNCDNCDNC21114
301927Colin Page2626DNFDNF114