You are here: > reports & results > great britain results > nationals 08

Great Britain, Rooster International British OK Dinghy National Championships 2008

Parkstone Yacht Club

23-25 August

Pictures at

Report by Dan Ager

After being runner up on too many occasions, Terry Curtis from Upper Thames SC finally went one place better and won the OK nationals, sponsored by Rooster Sailing and hosted by Parkstone Yacht Club over the 23rd, 24th and 25th August.

Although pushed hard by both Jim Hunt and initially Jonathon Fish he always had enough to keep ahead and counting 5 first places, 2 second places and discarding a sixth gave a comfortable lead on the scoreboard if not always on the water.

The event was preceded by a training session led by Nick Craig. A dozen or so sailors had classroom lecture followed by a good session out on the water and then watched themselves on film afterwards. It must have been good as the top 3 in the nationals were all in attendance!

The eight race series was held out in Poole Bay in generally breezy conditions with enough waves to make going downwind fun.

Day 1

Was a long day, the fleet leaving shore at 11am getting back at 7pm. Jon Fish had a good day, leading for much of first two races only to be taken by Curtis in the later stages, this combined with a 4th place in race three left him in second spot overnight. Jim Hunt having scored 3,2,4 in third. Andy Turner performed well with a 4 and 5 in the first two races only to be black flagged in race three. Tony Rich also started well with a 5,6 but followed that with a 12. Julian Burnham sailed well to land 5th in the last race. But it was Curtis who sailed home happiest having a perfect scoreline of 1,1,1.

Day 2

Racing began in lighter winds with Curtis followed by Alex Scoles in the leading positions. They were both caught out by the shifty conditions and at the finish Keith Byers on his 52nd birthday took the gun followed by Hunt, the Fish, Ager and Scoles. Curtis back in 6th. This was Byers first nationals race win, after coming close a few times over the years and a popular win with the fleet.

A big shift in the next race could have shuffled up the places more than it did. Those on the left hand side of the beat watched those on the right benefiting. Curtis in the middle and far enough ahead managed to maintain his lead. Hunt who was in 2nd and Dan Ager in 3rd and on the left were also far enough ahead not to come out too badly. Ager also had the presence of mind to tack across on a big header to secure 2nd spot. Chris Arnell getting a comfortable 3rd proving not everyone needs a carbon mast to be at the front. Fish who was on the right being taken from mid fleet back to 4th. Hunt ended up 5th. So far Fish was having a consistent series with all top 4 finishes.

Fish used his discard in the third race of the day when he was black flagged. Curtis won with Scoles again near the front getting 2nd and Mike Edwards beginning a late charge for a good overall position with a 3rd. Hunt finished in 4th with Keith Dutton well up in 5th. With the discard now being used Curtis was counting five 1sts and a 10 point lead from Hunt and Fish in 2nd and 3rd.

Day 3

The final day brought with it the most wind. Fish having until this point been unusually consistent managed to return to usual form by capsizing, losing his glasses and finishing 16th. Curtis was content to sail round in 2nd place behind Hunt to secure the championship and Edwards again in 3rd. Ager again sailing well into 4th and Rich 5th even after snapping his tiller extension in two. Ager now only counting one result out of the top 4 moved into 3rd place overall with a comfortable points cushion on Fish. The final race of the Championship had some real breeze making for excellent reaches and runs. Hunt again winning from Curtis, Fish and Ager with Andy Turner in 5th place.

All four juniors competing sailed well in the testing conditions during the Championship, with Ed Dutton from South Staffs SC taking the junior title from Richard Burton, West Oxford. Ben Steel and the very young and light Sam Woods from Etherow SC also deserve congratulating for sailing well. South Staffs SC won the Thorpe Trophy for the top team of the Championship. The Vintage boat title was won by Tim O’Leary and Jon Fish won the ‘Brixham Bonnet’ (a rather embarrassing hat) for his usual and entertaining antics on the water.

The racing was slick and well run by Brian Drake and his team and as always the facilities provided by Parkstone YC were excellent, so thanks to all concerned. Thanks must also go to Rooster sailing for generously providing the prizes to go with the many OK trophies that were up for grabs.

Next year the class heads back to Dabchicks SC for the National Championships, which will no doubt prove to be just as competitive as this year.

12118Vet.Terry CurtisUpper Thames SC11161122159
22116Vet.Jim HuntSutton SC324254112217
32120 Dan AgerWaldringfield SC933428443728
42122 Jon FishWaldringfield SC24234BFD1636834
52126 Mike EdwardsSouth Staffs SC118BFD763367844
62117 Alex ScolesOvery Staithe SC16108572786347
72084Mas.Keith ByersMorcombe & Heysham YC89611078105949
82123Mas.Andy TurnerOvery Staithe SC45BFD2189659258
92124Vet.David RoseBawdsey Haven YC777141169117258
101944 Julian BurnhamUpper Thames SC12205813111098868
112085Vet.Gaven WaldronSouth Staffs SC61111229131279169
122121 Anthony RichOxford SC56121714165159073
132127Vet.Keith DuttonSouth Staffs SC1012141312511128975
142064Vet.Chris ArnellChristchurch SC171391031213DNS11177
152112Vet.J.P. WilliamsWest Oxfordshire SC141713917141718119101
162125 Neil GoodheadSouth Staffs SC1514101818201513123103
172128Jun.Ed DuttonSouth Staffs SC1322151115231414127104
181968 Jack GroganArdleigh SC201818121610DNSDNS162128
192102Vet.Andrew DayWest Oxfordshire SC2321201919211816157134
202065Mas.Simon ShawDeben YC22191623261820DNS178144
212131 Nigel GroganArdleigh SC2116BFD152115DNSDNS190156
222059 Peter TurnerOvery Staithe SC1915DNS162217DNFDNS191157
232092Mas.W. BradburnSouth Staffs SC25231725232421DNS192158
242031Mas.Dave CooperOvery Staithe SC282619262022DSQDSQ209175
252104Mas.Paul PikeCovenham SC2929222928272417205176
261966Vet.Tim O'LearyFelixstowe Ferry SC2425BFD27251922DNS210176
272129Mas.Alan AtkinBurghfield SC1828BFD202425DNSDNS217183
281774Jun.Richard BurtonWest Oxfordshire SC272721DNS272623DNS219185
292068Vet.Tony WoodsEtherow Country Park SC2624DNS24DNFDNS19DNS229195
302058F/Mas.Mary ReddyhoffParkstone YC3130DNS2829DNS25DNS245211
312049Jun. Ben SteelEtherow Country Park SC323123DNFDNSDNSDNSDNS256222
322083Vet.Chris BiscombFishers Green SC30DNFDNSDNSDNSDNSDNSDNS268234
331998Jun.Sam WoodsEtherow Country Park SC33DNFDNSDNSDNSDNSDNSDNS271237