You are here: > reports & results > great britain results > brightlingsea 00

Great Britain, Brightlingsea 2000

Report and results courtesy Greg Casey.

The largest Ok fleet of the season gathered at Brightlingsea on the weekend of the 1st-2nd of July for the second world qualifier for next years event to be held in Sweden.

The first race started in very light shifty winds with a strong tide running, these conditions were to remain for the whole weekend, Sharing the course with other fleets made tactical mark rounding skills highly important and great gains or losses could be made.

Race one was won by Mr Rushworth racing dinghies himself followed by Robert Deaves. Pete Turner was third. This was however only after Will Turner and Dave Carrol who crossed the line first were OCS.

Race two saw Carrol make no mistakes this time to win followed by Rushworth and Deaves, Pete Wibroe from Denmark made fourth place.

After a long difficult sail to the start race 3 got under way and was initially led by Wibroe from Greg Casey however with the wind disappearing, completely returning from new directions and the strong tides most of the fleet had their moment of glory before the time limit expired and it was abandoned.

Race 4, on a weak sea breeze, was led for much of the way by Will Turner who then somehow managed to capsize down the run. Alex Scoles won from a close chasing group of Rushworth, Terry Curtis and Casey.

  1. Andy Rushworth Highcliffe sc
  2. Robert Deaves Dabchicks sc
  3. Greg Casey Bexhill sc
  4. Pete Turner Waldringfield sc
  5. Alex Scoles Overy staithe sc