You are here: > reports & results > great britain results > inlands 03

Great Britain, Inland Chamionship 2003

Northampton Sailing Club

Glorious sunshine and light winds greeted 26 OK's at Northampton Sailing Club for this years Inland Championship.

Terry Curtis took an early lead in race 1 and managed to hold on to it without threat whilst the rest of the fleet frequently exchanged places due to large wind shifts, leaving John Ball 2nd and Anthony Rich 3rd.

Race 2 got off to a sticky start with John Ball being towed across the start line by Roger Cooper. The lead changed several times between the Turner boys and Neil Goodhead, Curtis managed to catch the leading pack, but Will Turner took final honours followed by Curtis and Pete Turner.

Race 3 started in a shiftier and dying wind causing the fleet to change positions constantly, Will Turner managed to come through at the right time to take 1st, Gavin Waldron 2nd and Geoff Woollen 3rd.

Sunday produced more of the same conditions.

In race 4 Andy Turner found some light wind speed rounding the first mark ahead followed by Goodhead and Dave Wright. Goodhead then took the lead and finished in 1st, Waldron 2nd and Ball 3rd.

Race 5 saw Will Turner in 1st, Ian Harris 2nd followed by Woollen.

Race 6 found veteran Bill Bradburn in the lead after a 20 year absence from the circuit, but a cruel shift changed the fortunes of the entire fleet. On the final reach Pete Turner inadvisably followed Goodhead round the wrong mark, causing confusion within the rest of the fleet leaving Mike Edwards (usually at the back of the fleet) to take the lead and hold it to the finish, followed by Will Turner and Garth Thompson.

An enjoyable but frustrating weekend was had by all.

  1. Will Turner
  2. Terry Curtis
  3. Neil Goodhead
  4. Gavin Waldron
  5. Geoff Woollen
  6. Ian Harris
  7. Antony Rich
  8. Mike Edwards
  9. John Ball
  10. Alan Atkin
  11. Peter Turner
  12. John Meadowcroft
  13. Bill Bradburn
  14. Garth Thompson
  15. Deryck Lovegrove
  16. Andy Turner
  17. Mary Reddyhoff
  18. David Wright
  19. JP Williams
  20. Simon Shaw
  21. Ed Bradburn
  22. Paul Jewby
  23. Paul Pike
  24. John Owen
  25. Roger Cooper
  26. Doris Thorne

1st lady Mary Reddyhoff
1st junior Ed Bradburn
1st veteran Geoff Woollen