You are here: > reports & results > great britain results > nationals 04

Great Britain, Nationals 2004

Parkstone Y.C.

Poole, Great Britain

To Results

Pictures are in the Pictures gallery.

July 18th - 20th

from UK website

Parkstone Yacht Club hosted the OK Class National and Open Championships with a near record entry of 75 boats the most for over 15 years. The entry was enhanced by a strong Overseas contingent who were getting acclimatised to the local waters for their World Championship being run by Parkstone next week, also in Poole Bay.

The indifferent summer decided to show signs of improvement and all 8 races scheduled were sailed in a variety of conditions. This allowing Principal Race Officer Bryan Drake, to set good start lines with a true beat to the first mark.

Sunday morning saw very little wind with rain but the sun soon came out and after a light 1st race the 2nd and 3rd were sailed in winds gusting up to 20knts from the SW. This led to a few casualties with broken masts and retirements. Competitors had problems getting used to the change of tide for the 2nd race and there were three General Recalls before the fleet finally got away, but not before 11 had been disqualified for premature starting under the "Black Flag" rule. They were all much more careful by the 3rd race!

Monday was fine with a steady southerly wind of 9 to 10knts making pleasant sailing for all. It was the 3rd race this time that caught the unwary with a west going tide and 5 boats were "Black Flagged".

Tuesday morning was sunny but with light winds. After a delay of 55 minutes the PRO got the competitors away to a clear start on a shortened course in a 5knt SSEerly wind. Those choosing the left hand side of the course soon realised that they had been pushed down tide and some of the top sailors finished up with indifferent results in this race. The 2nd race had one General Recall but at the second attempt everyone was clear of the line (almost line shy) and had an extremely close race with only a few minutes separating the first and last boats in a very pleasant 9 knt breeze.

Tom Lock, Club Commodore, said that Parkstone had been delighted to host the event and that he looked forward to welcoming many of the sailors to the Worlds next week. He thanked all those who had put so much time into running and organised the Meeting, with special mention of Mary Reddyhoff, herself an OK sailor and PRO Bryan Drake. He congratulated the winners and invited the Class President to present the prizes.

DNC, DNS, DNF, DSQ, OCS: 76 pts

1GBR 2110Nick CraigFrensham Pond SC5245322215
2IND 1Nitin MongiaNavel SC Mumbai142155481218
3GBR 2109Jim HuntSouth Staffs SC111282111821
4DEN 1280Jorgen LindhardtsenHvidovre Sejlklub7364171111435
5NZL 501Matt StechmannWorser Bay SC14103212649641
6SWE 2746Thomas Hansson-MildUmea Segelsallskap178984DNF3941
7GBR 2106David CarrollFelixstowe Ferry SC3621784162244
8NZL 511Ben MorrisonWakatere BC217101691429354
9GER 727Karsten HilzSSCDNS153018881555
10NZL 517Paul RhodesWorser Bay BC65DNF311DNF37163
11GER 717Oliver GronholzSSC2591161310152564
12NZL 522Greg WilcoxWorser Bay BC9OCS14142013DNF575
13GBR 2101Terry CurtisUpper Thames SC16181311212291178
14GBR 2113Andrew RushworthChristchurch SC12142510616263383
15GER 690Sönke BehrensSCOe20192220151271487
16NZL 521Mark PerrowWakatere BC81120281920601088
17GBR 2045Will TurnerArdleigh SC26161534241761391
18NZL 519Steven McDowellWorser Bay CB10OCS7132624681797
19NZL 520Russell WoodPCSC38713612OCS231998
20POL 14Pawel PawlaczykJKW192324191491828102
21SWE 99Hans ElkjærVarverges Segelsallskap1322OCS1716231718103
22GBR 2012Hywel RobertsParkstone YC22263392373323110
23NZL 509Joe PorebskiWBBC4OCSDNF221029437115
24DEN 1324Jesper PetersenSolrod Strand Sejklub15DSQ1212733824125
25NZL 484Michael InwoodWakatere BC2115234622343216129
26GBR 2054James WellsRYA423731153427530142
27GBR 2082John BallFelixstowe Ferry & DYC24OCSDNS3225182426149
28SWE 2750Jonas LindahlNattraby BK4430DNS263821432151
29NZL 490Craig PryceNapier SC36OCS272328261249152
30GBR 2108Neil GoodheadSouth Staffs SC5127353329191047153
31NZL 504Adrian ManneringNapier SC3913192527334639156
32GER 725Christian HartmannVSaw2932DNS2752151443160
33AUS 711Nick GraySouth Lake Maquarie SC3733164351431321163
34GBR 2085Gavin WaldronSouth Staffs SC2325305642372752184
35GBR 2083Andy TurnerArdleigh SC28OCS175857381936195
36AUS 708Christopher VisickBlack Rock YC3221284947447029201
37GBR 1774Tony ThresherWest Oxfordshire SC3324264440394041202
38GBR 2112John-Paul WilliamsWest Oxford SC3529434533406627207
39GBR 2107Mike EdwardsSouth Staffs SC4028DNF5239284431210
40AUS 610Peter BurtonSouth Lake Macquarie A. SC3420183855506251211
41GBR 2100Dan AgerRYA3036DNS4250453435222
42GBR 2021Alex ScolesOvery Straith SC5641374044423138229
43DEN 1246Frank VislerSolroed Strand Sejlklub50OCSDNS3132465720236
44POL 5Krzysztof DabkowskiMos 241OCS296337255648236
45AUS 692Bill TylerSydney Amateur SC4834395146413059238
46GBR 2008Geoff WoollenFrensham Pond SC4744405331553937238
47DEN 1335Mogens JohansenSolrad Strand Sejlklub5235DNS3930325253240
48GBR 2087Jules BurnhamUpper Thames SC5745DNS2936364754247
49AUS 715Tom PearceBlack Rock YC5938384159DNF2256254
50GBR 2102Andrew DayWest Oxford SC4543365560492861256
51GBR 2065Simon ShawDeben YC4639455041573663257
52GBR 1966Timothy O'LearyFelixstowe Ferry SC5342422449485355258
53DEN 1323Bo TeglersHvidovre Sejlklub2731345958516158259
54GBR 2067Jonathan FishFelixstowe Ferry SC31OCSDNF5443OCS2534263
55GBR 2059Peter TurnerArdleigh SCDNSDNSDNS4848312144268
56DEN 1212Jan LarsenWurdoure43DNFDNS4754473550276
57GBR 2007Anthony RichDeben YCDNSDNSDNS3545305846290
58GBR 2072Jon MeadowcroftUpper Thames YC5847DNS18DNFDNS5442295
59GBR 2084John MacIntyreRYA55DNFDNS6256354245295
60POL 58Darek KrasMos 25440415753545962299
61GER 693Martin von Zimmermann DNSDNSDNS3735OCS4140305
62GBR 2058Mary ReddyhoffParkstone YC6149DNS6062562064308
63AUS 694Richard FurneauxBlack Rock YC6346326163OCS5060312
64GBR 2031Dave CooperOuse Amateur SC49OCS466561526757330
65GBR 2091Russell ConnorUpper Thames SC6450DNS6466585170353
66BEL 604Mark GeboesKLYC60DNFDNS6664536567375
67FRA 873Yan RiallandU.S. Riveraine654844DNFDNSDNSDNSDNS385
68GBR 2056Colin SlevinSouth Staffs SC68DNFDNS6865OCS4566388
69GBR 2048Rodney ThorneUpper Thames SC62DNSDNS6767596968392
71GBR 2077John OwenDudley SC66DNSDNSDNSDNSDNS5565414
72GBR 1927Colin PageWeston SCDNSDNSDNSDNSDNS606369420
73GBR 1983Robert PilonUpper Thames SC69DNSDNS6968DNFDNSDNS434
74GBR 2074Roger CooperUpper Thames SCDNFDNFDNSDNSDNSDNS6471439