You are here: > reports & results > netherlands results > spring cup 06

Netherlands, Spring Cup 2006

KZ & RV Hollandia, Medemblik

May 5.- 7.

11 British boats joined boats from around Europe to contest the OK Spring Cup, hosted impeccably by Royal Yacht Club Hollandia, in Medemblik from May 5th to 7th.

The 8 race series was fiercely contested over large courses with several boats mixing it at the front. All three days were sailed in quite different conditions, from a very light second race to a blasting last race.

The event was dominated by Terry Curtis, demonstrating plenty of pace, especially as the breeze built to post 4 race wins and 3 second places and win with a race to spare.

Despite the emphatic scoreline, Terry didn’t have it all his own way, as in most races there were only a couple of lengths separating him and Jon Fish, who took second overall and just managed to hold on to win race 4 by a metre.

Third place went to Thomas Glas of Germany, who led race six from start to finish in a true test of endurance, just holding Curtis out at the finish on a leg-breaking four race second day .

Dan Ager posted a very consistent series to secure fourth place from Thorsten Schmidt of Germany.

Andy Turner yet again showed his superior ‘no breeze’ pace to win race two without even worrying about covering Curtis or Fish who were threatening to pass up the last beat and when Curtis and Fish called it quits whilst being one & two a lap into the last race, John Meadowcroft duly took up the challenge and had a storming last beat to win from the emerging talent of Tomasz Gaj of Poland.

After three excellent days yachting at this top venue, all the competitors left very content and looking forward to returning next year.

1GBR 2118Terry Curtis10,01212121dnf
2GBR 2110Jonathan Fish17,02321234dnf
3GER 624Thomas Glas26,094337153
4GBR 2100Dan Ager31,0415754434
5GER 707Thorsten Schmidt33,06547362dns
6GBR 2084John Meadowcroft44,07129411571
7POL 1Tomasz Gaj51,011859511112
8GER 688Dirk Dame51,03781012797
9GBR 2117Alex Scoles53,08106699105
10GBR 2045Andy Turner68,01911418101366
11GER 720Daniel Gr�schl72,05141513812128
12GBR 2015Christopher Arnell73,01419108688dns
13POL 24Darek Kras86,01217131115101510
14GBR 2104Deryck Lovegrove90,0131612161314139
15BEL 214Paul Verrijdt96,01518111216151611
16GBR 2087Julian Burnham105,01661815171617dnf
17GBR 2065Simon Shaw107,0179171414dns14dns
18GER 604Mark Geboes114,010112020181718dns
19GBR 2053alaan atkin127,018131617dnsdns19dns
20GER 728Karsten Kath144,020201919dnsdnsdnsdns
21GBR 2090Ronny Poelman147,021dns2121dns18dnfdns